2022 Alumni Award Recipients

To be honored Thursday, September 15 

The Brother William B. Cornelia Founders Award
for Outstanding Service to the College

This award, which was inaugurated in 1961, is named for the founding president of Iona, Brother Cornelia. Bestowal of this award is intended to show the association’s appreciation for those who have generously given of their time, resources and energies for the betterment of the College.
2022 Recipient: Justin P. Meagher '93

The Brother John G. Driscoll Award
for Humanitarian Service

This prestigious alumni award, established in 1995, recognizes and honors Ionians who, by their activities and service to others, have reinforced Iona’s identity as a College founded in the tradition of the Congregation of Christian Brothers and American Catholic higher education.
2022 Recipient: Matthew McCauley '96

The Brother Patrick B. Doyle Award
for Distinguished Service to the Alumni Association

This award was instituted in 1968 in memory of one of the founding faculty members of Iona. Brother Doyle was revered as a classical scholar, a naturalist and a spiritual father to all Ionians of his era.
2022 Recipient: Darcy Katris, Esq. '82

The Brother Arthur A. Loftus Award
for Outstanding Achievement

The Loftus Award recognizes and honors Ionians who have brought acclaim to the College by brilliant accomplishments in their chosen careers. This award, dating back to 1965, perpetuates the memory of Iona’s second president, Br. Loftus, who was also on the original faculty of the College.
2022 Recipients:
Edmond Boran '67
Teresa Killeen Kenny '87
Shenan M. Reed Golimbu '97
Edward Reilly '72

The Brother Robert A. Durning Rising Star Award

This award is named for Iona’s beloved alumni and faculty member, Brother Robert A. Durning ’69.  It honors recent Iona graduates who have already brought acclaim to the College through achievements in their respective fields. Brother Durning was a dynamic and gifted teacher who touched the lives of many students. With this award, we honor his commitment to excellence and the pursuit of lifelong learning by recognizing these outstanding young professionals.
2022 Recipient: Kyle Granby '12